Select all

PDF is loading

Please wait while the document is being prepared

EUR – Euro


Today, all transactions in EUR between 2 countries with EUR as domestic currency must respect the SEPA regulation (Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain and The Netherlands).

As from November 2016, all transactions in EUR between 2 countries within the SEPA Area (see Appendix VII) must also respect the SEPA regulation.

Payment transactions processed and settled through large- value payment systems, regardless of the amount, remain out of scope of the SEPA regulation.

Currency Guidelines
SEPA payments

For SEPA payments, please consult our dedicated SEPA guides (see Appendix VII).

High Value payments

Standard information
In some countries the IBAN format is mandatory (see Appendix VI) and/or specific local regulations are applicable.

A clear reason / purpose of payment is recommended and consists of a full written description (in English) of the nature of payment to be provided in the remittance information. For example; providing an invoice number without guiding text is considered as insufficient and can result in errors or delays.

Example: Payment of travel expenses – invoice n° 123456789

Instructions, technical guidelines & more

To consult the Technical Guidelines of this currency, click here


To consult the Appendix(es) click here

Appendix VI: IBAN Application Rules
Appendix VII: SEPA Countries
Additional information

• Available charge options: OUR/SHA/BEN
In principle, for payments subject to the Payment Services Directive (PSD) and without currency conversion, only shared charges are allowed.

• More information about the Euro zone:

• European Central Bank: